top of page

Redeeming the Time - One hole or two?

Updated: Apr 15, 2021

That's the way my pastor put it.

And that was a sermon preached in '04.


Before I say it, I'm already anticipating that some people might be uncomfortable upon reading the sentence. It can be a touchy subject; I hold an opinion that is very different, that is not held by the vast majority, and I've discovered this in my conversations with other people.


Should women wear lower body coverings that have one hole or two holes at the bottom?


Or, more simply worded, skirts or pants?


I have a proposition. I'm not going to give my thoughts on this just yet; I'm going to make a request of y'all. Tell me your thoughts on the subject, and while you're writing those up, here are some considerations.


Dressing in regard to modesty. Put yourself in the other gender's shoes; what do they look at when they look at you?

Dressing in regard to separation. See Romans 12:2.

Dressing in regard to the "lessening" of the gender gap. I say "lessening" the gender gap is still there, always has been, always will be regardless of what any human says. Men are men and women are women.

Dressing in regard to association. If you dress Amish, you'll probably be mistaken for an Amish gent.


You don't have to consider all of these; you don't even have to consider any of these; you don't even have to reply. I'm just asking for your thoughts.

199 views39 comments

Recent Posts

See All

39 Comments


Olivia
Olivia
Feb 11, 2022

We should do a part 2 😂

Like

ajschaub12.6
ajschaub12.6
Mar 26, 2021

Just to let y'all know, I am going to publish a follow-up post to this one. I might have it finished by tonight (fyi life immediately prior to your first college semester is sometimes crazy)

Like
Kinzie B
Kinzie B
Mar 27, 2021
Replying to

Aww, bummer. I'll be looking forward to reading it tomorrow! 😁

Like

Kinzie B
Kinzie B
Mar 25, 2021

Hey! I'm 100% positive that NOBODY on here believes what I believe, so this is going to be fun! 😂 I believe in dressing modestly, and I have pretty strict standards as to what I will and will not wear. This is something that my parents have always enforced, but I don't do it because my parents make me; I do it because this is what I believe. I'll outline my standards below, and then give some reasons as to why I follow them.


  1. Pants - No pants. Ever. Under no circumstances. My mom let me wear pants when I was a baby crawling on the floor, but after I started learning to walk, I haven't worn them since. 😂


Like
Kinzie B
Kinzie B
Mar 30, 2021
Replying to

Thank you, Elly! ♥ Yes, I have thought a lot about this subject, mainly so I could explain my position to my friends who don't believe the same way. 😂


Dress code does depend on culture. If you compare what men and women wore in all the different cultures, there has always been a difference. Zondervan's Pictorial Dictionary says "A few articles of female clothing carried somewhat the same name and same basic pattern as a man's, yet there was always sufficient difference. . . So that in appearance, the line of demarcation between men and women could readily be detected." So, even from a distance, you could tell if the person was a man or a woman by what…


Like

Olivia
Olivia
Mar 25, 2021

TBH I think its fine to wear skirts unless they are extremely short which is really weird..... I honestly don't get the "styles" that are going around rn. For example crop tops, super short shorts, stuff like that. Its really weird. Why would you want anyone to see your belly button..... 😂 Its so dumb... I think its fine to wear tank tops. I don't anythings wrong with that. I know that some people have a problem with ripped jeans but i think its fines long at they aren't ripped close to your butt or have a lot of rips.

Like
ajschaub12.6
ajschaub12.6
Mar 25, 2021
Replying to

Thank you for your reply!

Like

Unknown member
Mar 25, 2021

your body is God’s temple. You don’t show it off. God calls us to dress modestly, men and women. If your ok wearing short shorts and cropped tops and bikinis as a christian that is your choice. My family has 3 girls. My parents are pretty strict about what I wear. No short shorts. I don’t wear off the shoulder stuff a lot and I don’t wear bikinis because that is not honoring God and His temple.

Like
ajschaub12.6
ajschaub12.6
Mar 25, 2021
Replying to

Thank you for your reply!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page