top of page

Redeeming the Time - Must I Go, and Empty-Handed?

Updated: Feb 13, 2021

“Must I go, and empty-handed,” Thus my dear Redeemer meet? Not one day of service give Him, Lay no trophy at His feet?


“Must I go, and empty-handed?” Must I meet my Saviour so? Not one soul with which to greet him Must I empty-handed go?


Not at death I shrink or falter, For my saviour saves me now; But to meet Him empty-handed, Thought of that now clouds my brow.


Oh, the years in sinning wasted Could I but recall them now, I would give them to my Saviour, To His will I’d gladly bow.


Oh, ye saints, arouse, be earnest Up and work while yet ’tis day, Ere the night of death o’er take thee, Strive for souls while still you may.


Up ye saints! Come serve the Saviour; Pledge your lives to Him who died. We must hear “well done!” in glory. Live for Christ, the Crucified!


Lyrics: Charles Luther Final Refrain: Jesse Boyd Lyrics copied from https://musicacristianaahora.com/music/boyd-jesse/must-i-go-and-empty-handed



This arrangement was done by a friend who thought that the original tune didn’t fit the attitude of the lyrics, so he wrote one with a more somber tone to it. A small group sang it at our church and it was (and has been) a great blessing and a sobering reminder to listen to it. I hope that you will also benefit from it.



Feel free to share Scripture verses and thoughts down below!

15 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1件のコメント


Natalie L.
Natalie L.
2021年2月04日

Beautiful

いいね!
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page