top of page

Redeeming the Time - Great God of Wonders!

This post is a bit of a short testimony. I don’t really know what Scripture to put with this post, partly because there was no particular Scripture that I had in mind while writing this. So if you have any passages that you would like to share, please do!

At the beginning of this year, my interest in Spiritual things grew to be much greater than it had been before, and I began to pray more and to read the Bible more. And the more I read and the more I prayed and the more time I spent in thinking about God, the more I realized that there is absolutely nobody like God. And there has been absolutely nobody like Him. And there will never be anybody like Him. Ever. He is I AM THAT I AM, THE LORD, THE LORD GOD. He has been for ever and ever, and is, and will be for ever and ever. In all of His qualities He is perfect, and we cannot even begin to understand His attributes. I have thought and thought and read Scripture about the doctrine of election, pondered the Trinity, wondered at God’s love, been astonished with His forgiveness. All my efforts to understand what He does and why He does it have resulted in three things: me wondering still more, thinking more, pondering again, wanting to read the Scriptures more; me loving Him more; and a continuing realization that He is the only thing that really matters in life.

I have friends. Most of them are saved and we have talks about Scripture and spiritual things and I love my friends dearly. But as much as I love them and want to be with them and talk to God about them, they are only people. They have a limited knowledge of me and my feelings, desires, and thoughts. They cannot see into the future to know what I will run into in the next week. They don’t always know what’s best for me. They definitely struggle with loving me on occasion. God, however, has a perfect knowledge of me; He knows me better than I know me. He knows exactly how I feel, every moment of the day. He knows when I am in a grumpy mood and when I am in an extremely benevolent mood. He knows what I desire and what I think about. He sees every part of my future, as well as every part of my past. He always knows what is best: His way is perfect. And He can love me like no other person on earth could; He is even closer than the friend who sticks closer than a brother. God loved me when I was a sinner and turned my back on Him. He loves me even now when as His child I run away from Him: He loves me enough to punish me when I do so. And when God has punished me and I am in the depths of despair, He is always there for me to call out to. He always answers, and though the answer may not be immediately apparent or what I wanted, it is always right. For God is always, only right. His Word stands like a rock undaunted ‘mid the raging storms of time and its pages burn with the truth eternal! That constancy is something that no other human can provide.

This hymn is a wonderful prayer to God that I was reminded of while writing this post.

Great God of Wonders!

Great God of wonders! all Thy ways Are matchless, Godlike, and divine; But the bright glories of Thy grace Above thine other wonders shine, Above thine other wonders shine.

Refrain: Who is a pard’ning God like Thee? Or who has grace so rich and free? Or who has grace so rich and free?

Such deep transgressions to forgive! Such guilty sinners thus to spare! This is Thy grand prerogative, And in this honor none shall share; And in this honor none shall share.

In wonder lost, with trembling joy, We take the pardon of our God: Pardon for crimes of deepest dye, A pardon bought with Jesus’ blood, A pardon bought with Jesus’ blood.

O may this glorious, matchless love, This God-like miracle of grace, Teach mortal tongues, like those above, To raise this song of lofty praise, To raise this song of lofty praise:

18 Who is a God like unto thee, that pardoneth iniquity, and passeth by the transgression of the remnant of his heritage? He retaineth not His anger for ever, because He delighteth in mercy. Micah 7:18

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you have anything to share, please do so in the comment section!



16 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Selah
Selah
Feb 04, 2021

Great job Andrew! It was wonderful reading your testimony and hymn.

Like

Natalie L.
Natalie L.
Feb 02, 2021

This is a beautiful post. Loved your testimony.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page