top of page

The Goodness Of God- I still believe

Updated: May 4, 2021


Hey ya'll! I hope your day is going well. My day is gloomy because it's raining outside. Last night me and my sisters (Which I will clarify is one of them is Selah, but not the one who writes the everyday blogs.) I also have another sister; her name is Ellie but not the Elly who is the administrator of this awesome website. Ok, now that is cleared up. Going back to what I was saying, my sisters and I watched I still believe last night. It is about Jeremy Camp and His first wife, Melissa. She died from cancer in 2003, and Jeremy married her even though he knew the possibility that he might lose her. He walked “right into the fire with her until the end. That’s what love is.” Explained Tom Camp to Jeremy, his son, after he lost Melissa. It is an amazing story and I recommend the movie and his biography.

TOPIC: I STILL BELIEVE

Throughout the whole movie, Melissa had this undying faith in God. Faith that He had a plan, she said that possibly God has chosen something bigger than her, something that she might not have chosen for herself. And that was cancer and the impact her death would have on thousands, maybe even millions of people. Her death was the reason Jeremy met his second wife, Adrienne. Melissa believed that, “If one’s person’s life is changed by my story, then it will be worth it.” Throughout her suffering of chemo, stomach pains, and pain of coming to terms that she was going to die and leave her husband of less than three months, throughout all that, she learned “…. That suffering doesn’t destroy faith, it refines it.”

Another thing I loved about this movie is that stars were a common theme throughout the movie. She loved stars. Now, I am not sure if Melissa loved stars in real life, or if that was just added by the writers to make the movie more sentimental, I have no clue. In the movie, when Jeremy and Melissa went out on their first date, she took him to a museum that had a little slideshow thing about stars. Melissa said a couple of things that struck me. One was, “I’m just one star in an infinite galaxy, and He know my name.” And then Jeremy said, “Some stars shine brighter then others.” Later, when Melissa knew she was dying, she told Jeremy that the stars with the shortest lives shine the brightest, and that the death of a single star outshines everything in the galaxy. Soon after that she died.

See, the running theme is her faith. And her faith influenced Jeremy to write the song I still believe. Her faith influenced Adrienne. Melissa is still a big part of the Camp’s life and that is the impact one short lived star can have. I pray for myself and every other Christian in the world that we have faith like Melissa. An undying one that did not waver in the face of death.

BOTTOM LINE: HAVE FAITH NO MATTER WHAT YOU ARE FACING

I hope you enjoyed my little commentary and review of this movie. I encourage you to go watch it, and go listen to Jeremy’s songs because they speak so much truth.

172 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All

7 Comments


Elly
Elly
Apr 29, 2021

Loved this Charis!! I haven't seen I Still Believe yet either but I love the song! And pretty much all of Jeremy Camp's songs! My dad's played his music ever since I was a little girl so I've grown up hearing some of his classics! And I absolutely love stars too! Some of my favorite verses in the Bible are about stars and I've saved soooo many quotes about them! Now I especially want to watch this movie to see what references are made!

Like
Unknown member
Apr 30, 2021
Replying to

It’s ok. It tell me you are very excited 🤦🏼‍♀😂

Like

Natalie L.
Natalie L.
Apr 25, 2021

Great post! The movie and message sound beautiful. I have been wanting to watch that movie since it came out, but I haven't had the opportunity to watch it yet.

Jeremy's songs really do speak the truth. He's one of my favorite Christian artists!

Like
Mia
Mia
Apr 25, 2021
Replying to

Beautiful post!! Thank you for writing this!


I've been wanting to watch this movie too, but haven’t had the chance yet. I’ll definitely have to check it out!!

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page