top of page

The Goodness of God- Imitating Christ


Hey Peeps!! So, ummmm..... to be honest I'm kinda winging this one so please bear with me. It's not planned out so I'm just letting the Holy Spirit do all the talking (Errr... typing).

Ok, so I realize that I almost always start with the weather of all things, or how I'm doing, which I also realized is kinda selfish. Soo.. How are you guys? Comment down below how you're doing mentally, physically, or spiritually.

TOPIC: IMITATING CHRIST

You might be thinking which example I am talking about because basically all of Jesus's ministries is Him being an example. But today my scripture is from Philippians 2:1-11. Some of you or hopefully are familiar with verses 7-9 "rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death— even death on a cross! Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name."

God's example is what we need every single day of our lives. Verse 5 says, "Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus." As Christians we are called to be like Christ. To be a light. I know I keep coming back to this, but it's something that has to be pushed. Especially with the world we live in now. It also says in 1 Corinthians 1:11 to be imitators of Christ. So same thing but repeated in another place. In Ephesians 5, Paul calls to not be cheap imitations but be imitators in the truest form. Imitate God like a child imitates their parents. We need to learn God's attitudes and behaviors and imitate them. We need to be passionate about what Jesus was passionate about and do what Jesus did. I believe that bears repeating. We need to be passionate about what Jesus was passionate about and do what Jesus did

My challenge to you is to go read the four gospels and figure out what Jesus was passionate was about then go be passionate about it. Whether it's serving in your local homeless shelter or getting involved in an outreach program in your church.

"When the imitation of Christ does not mean to live a life like Christ, but to live your life as authentically as Christ lived his, then there are many ways and forms in which a man can be a Christian."

— Henri J.M. Nouwen

101 views11 comments

Recent Posts

See All

11 Kommentare


Unknown member
12. Apr. 2021

Thank you so much, my family has been going through a lot these past couple months, and your posts are such a blessing! Keep doin what ur doin.

Gefällt mir
Unknown member
12. Apr. 2021
Antwort an

Thanks for the encouraging words and I will be praying for y’all.

Gefällt mir

Natalie L.
Natalie L.
11. Apr. 2021

LOVED this post!!! I feel like more people need to be reading your blog besides those of us here.


Stressed, tired, and busy but I'm good!

Gefällt mir
✨abbsy babbsy✨
✨abbsy babbsy✨
11. Apr. 2021
Antwort an

I’m always busy too. Praying for you!!

Gefällt mir

Mia
Mia
09. Apr. 2021

I loved this post! Thank you so much for doing this blog!

I‘m doing good, super busy with school. How are you? :)

Gefällt mir
Unknown member
10. Apr. 2021
Antwort an

I’m great!! Thanks for asking

Gefällt mir

Llis C
Llis C
09. Apr. 2021

Thank you so much for this post, Charis! I really appreciate you taking time to write your thoughts about spiritual things! As to how I'm doing . . . well . . . allergies aren't fun, but other than that, life is great! Thanks for asking! 😊

Gefällt mir
Natalie L.
Natalie L.
10. Apr. 2021
Antwort an

Allergies are the worst! I'm thankful that I don't have very bad allergies. (Compared to the rest of my family that is.) But man oh man if i forget to take my medicine. Well... R.I.P

Gefällt mir
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page