top of page

Redeeming the Time - To all you Pride and Prejudice fans...

Updated: Mar 4, 2021

(And yes, this is being posted under 'Redeeming the Time', and considering my usual subject matter and the length of Pride and Prejudice films, this probably shouldn't be under RtT. But here it is)


Our family finally watched the 1995 version of P&P. In all of its 6-hour entirety.


And I must say, that I thoroughly enjoyed it. (With exceptions*) The poor mom was a basket-case the whole way through, and the dad certainly didn't do anything to stop himself being a bee in her bonnet. Mr. Collins was wonderful, absolutely wonderful. The music was very fitting. (Especially the Rosings theme. Gotta have some formidableness for the villain... if you can call the Lady Catherine de Bourgh a villain).


The girls were... eh... Silly. The dad was very accurate in his judgment of them. Silly.


Jane reminded me and my sisters of the White Witch (Disney's 2007 The Lion, TW, &TW...) so we didn't think that much of her, consequently. It was her eyes.


So, Lizzie was the most liked character among us... I think.


I didn't cry, but I did feel like it a few times.


*Exceptions: Why, why, why did women of the period have to have low necklines??? We had to have a paper ready to cover the lower half of the screen (though for the last two episodes we did use a deflated pool floatie. Worked remarkably well). At least the skirts were good. (Well there's my modesty rant. And yes, I do take different views on the subject that a lot of people)


To continue the sentence at the top...

I am now a P&P fan. Gotta read that book now...

32 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3 комментария


Неизвестный пользователь
03 мар. 2021 г.

I love P&P. It is one of my favorite books and I love that movie version.

Лайк

Llis C
Llis C
03 мар. 2021 г.

This is awesome! A great summary. And yes, you will def have to read it.😊

Лайк
Selah
Selah
04 мар. 2021 г.
Ответ пользователю

I'm was so happy when I read that last critique. THANK YOU THAT SOMEONE ACTUALLY CARES ABOUT THAT! Modesty is way too underrated these days. My family just watched that version and it's definitely one of my favorites, although I agree about Jane. Y'all should watch the other BBC america mini series version ( I think that's what it's called), that one's very good too. 🙃

Лайк
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page